Best Highlights Of 2019!

Posted: January 2, 2020 in Uncategorized

Captain’s log                            Stardate: 20202.2 (Jan 2nd, 2020)

Another year has come to an end, and another has just begun. When the new year is nearing, I’m pretty sure most of you have a long list of resolutions. Somethings which you need to improve on; be manageable, cut away some habits, exercise more, travelling to places you wanna go, learn to cook more, the list goes on.

For me…well honestly speaking, I cannot think of any and haven’t got a clue. People have been asking me this and that is my answer. Though I did finally learn how to cook simple meals, thanks to my wife. I used to be scared of pouring oil into the frying pan as I fear the oil will splattered to my skin…Hahaha!

Still, that is an achievement, so I can learn to cook more in the future. But other than that, I only know that I am trying to be a good husband to my wife. To strengthen our marriage relationship and continue to do our part. To maintain the household, pray for the best and hopefully can achieved our goals; God’s willing.

2019… has been a challenging year for us, indeed. Its been rough, its been tough pushing and punching through the obstacles. Still, we make it through.

But not forgetting the most exciting and treasurable moments I had throughout that 12 months. Here’s are the best highlights of 2019!

 

A 2-Night Getaway on the Genting Dream Cruise
25 Jan – 27 Jan 2019

I have always wanted to set sail on a cruise. Its a vacation like no other; a mobile hotel onto the sea.

So one day, I finally got the chance to set onboard the cruise. Booking via a travel agent, me and my wife set sail for a 2-night getaway onboard the Genting Dream Cruise. On 25th Jan till 27th Jan 2019, from Singapore to Port Klang, Malaysia.

Seriously, its great adventure for us! =)

img_4808

enlight248

Superheroes Birthday Bash!
24 Feb 2019

6 superheroes from the volunteer cosplay group, Pause For A Cause (PFC) beam down to Eunos Crescent as we are been invited by Ain Society to celebrate the birthdays of February-born children. Its also part of this month cancer awareness.

Like many other caregiving society, Ain Society had reached out wholeheartedly to help the disadvantaged children and families living to their fullest potentials. They also embarking to helping the cancer patients. So on that day, we are invited to celebrate the birthdays of those kiddy patients born on this month with their families.

The six of us consist of Kamen Rider Drive (Me), Kamen Rider Kickhopper, Captain America, Deadpool and 2 Spiderman of different generations.

IMG_5852

 

To Batam!
4 Apr – 5 Apr 2019

I have never been to Batam. One day I got my chance. I had recently booked a two-day stay at this Aston Hotel there. Yes, just a short getaway with my wife and also want to try it out the place since its my first time. In the future, will go for longer days.

I came to know that this Aston Batam Hotel & Residence are one of the newest hotels here. A four-star hotel that comes in a pleasant and stylish designed with 263 rooms divided into 6 room types: Superior, Deluxe, Premier, Family, Suite, 2 and 3 Bedroom apartments. I had choose the deluxe type as our first try out.

IMG_6742

IMG_6864

 

Anime Matsuri
10 Apr – 16 Apr 2019

An annual anime and Japanese culture known as Anime Matsuri was held for the first time at Bedok Mall from 10 – 16 Apr. Other that the booths selling Japanese stuffs, there will be the Anime Movie Screenings, Live Performances, Cosplay Workshop, Cosplay Meet & Greet, DJ Performance and Cosplay Competition.

Most excited one will be on the 14th, where the Cosplay Competition was held. After  thinking much about it, I decided to take part into it as Kamen Rider Drive.

Well, here I go. DRIVE!!! TYPE SPEED!!!

In less than a minute, I’m done. Finally, the judges had made their decision and ready to announced the three winners.

And guess what. I did not win…

But that’s ok. I accept it. At least I’ve try, and also the fact that my wife encouraged me to give it a go. She has been very supportive and I’m still a winner in her eyes. Thank you dear! Love ya! =)

703B3BAA-AF76-4FE5-8AA8-F3EF799449AF

 

Cosfest XVIII
20 July – 21 July 2019

Usually held at D’Marquee @ Downtown East Pasir Ris, the Cosplay event is arguable one of the largest known events in Singapore. Welcoming hundreds of cosplayers dressing in their favourite characters, either from Anime or Western alike.

Sunday itself is something special, cause its features a DC showcase run and I had taken part as Batman Beyond. One of the reasons why I’m there and since I owned the suit, why not take part? It will be an experience! Besides, I had been on stage many times so I know how the feeling is like! =D

IMG_0155

 

Music For A Cause
3 Aug – 4 Aug 2019

Our friendly cosplay volunteer group, Pause For A Cause (PFAC) was invited to be part of Singapore’s Social Cause Music Festival, Music For A Cause 2019. Taken place at Sports Hub, OCBC Arena Park from 3rd – 4th August, it features 13 local bands supporting various social causes.

I cos as Kamen Rider Drive and came for only day 2. Also, its just right for me to test out my new KR Drive helmet which is made from resin, compare to my old one which is made from foam. Most impressive of it, it had LED lights within the corners of the visor and the centre part of the helmet. Perfect time to test it out!

Enlight372

 

Kids Day Out At Canopy Park!
27 Aug 2019

On Aug 27th, 3 of us cosplayers from Pause For A Cause came down to the majestic Jewel Changi Airport where we are invited by Capelle Consultants whom are bringing about 66 children with special needs from Rainbow Centre.

So on that day, they have the kids to enjoy at the brand new Canopy Park inside Jewel. To add more fun, we are there to keep them entertained and having their photo taken with us.

I decided to come in my newly suit which is the Red Ranger Sentry. Also known as Tyrannosaurus Sentry, who appeared in the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers comic book series published by Boom! Studios. Also appeared in the 2018 crossover comic book “Shattered Grid” which was based on the Power Rangers franchise.

The other 2 cosplayers joining me were Red Ranger Female Samurai and Spiderman from Homecoming. As we were told, the kids aged range from 13 – 15 years old. As we are aware of their reactions and behaviour, we are to treat them as gently as we could, as equal to how the caregivers care and love them.

b4dc2e04-4a4a-4d34-8042-6106e590b1f1

 

Malam Escape – Impact Cosplay Showdown
16 Nov 2019

On Nov 16th, I had taken part in a cosplay competition which is situated at Woodlands in a night market. Yes, its part of a night market, or what we locals called it as Pasar Malam. Located next to ACE The Place CC (Community Centre), residents are in for a treat at this Pasar Malam known as Malam Escape.

A cosplay competition, known as Impact Cosplay Showdown is taking place there. One of my friends happened to be the host there, and he had announced in Facebook, that the cosplay part will be held on the 2nd, 9th and 16th November respectively. The response was overwhelming.

I donned in my Tyrannosaurus Sentry, and walked away as 3rd place and received awesome action figures worth $70 in total.

I had taken part in several cosplay competition, and never in my cosplay life I had won something awesome. Even in 3rd place, I was very thankful =)

f15a6798-0bad-4959-a7e7-ca0780b32818

IMG_3597

 

Action On Armenian Street!
24 Nov 2019

On Nov 24th, me and few friends suit up in our best characters and head out to Armenian Street where we are part of the Singapore Media Festival (SMF). Its also in collaboration with the upcoming Singapore Comic Con (7th – 8th Dec) as one of the participating events.

Four of us; Tyrannosaurus Sentry (Me), Kamen Rider Ichigo (Powered-Up version), Kamen Rider Zi-O II and Ultraman Ace marched down the SMF Festival Village. Entertaining the public from all walks of life, the events people, and especially the kids!

IMG_3811

IMG_3954

 

AFA 2019
29 Nov – 1 Dec 2019

One of the largest J-Pop culture is back again and hit across the exhibition halls at Suntec City Convention Centre. So for those who are into Japanese pop-culture or anything made from Japan, this treat is just for you.

Once again I suit up in my newly Tyrannosaurus Sentry. As usual like every year on this event, for those us donned as any heroic or villain character from Super Sentai/Power Rangers or Kamen Rider, regardless whether in full suit or civilian type, were invited for a mass group photoshoot. The more the better. We will shoot at the best areas, starting from the Suntec Skygarden, infront of the big screen at level 1 lobby and lastly at the Fountain of Wealth.

Majority of us attended on the 2nd day of the event, and is the best day for everyone to get together.

IMG_4201

78507590_10157884212428166_7084656633309036544_o

74667924_10157884212368166_2986405037103644672_o

 

Visit To KKH
2 Dec 2019

On Dec 2nd, 2019, Pause For A Cause was once again invited to KKH, to meet and bring the smiles to the boys and girls who were warded there. It has bring much attention, that this is one of the most heartwarming care-giving event ever been proposed. We are there for a special purpose: To deliver moments of happiness and cheering up those hundreds of sick children at the said hospital.

*Note: We regret to inform we will not disclose any of the photos taken with kids, as to respect their families. Thank you for your understanding.

So like the usual we always did; dropped by each selected children wards and makes them their day. Seeing their faces lighten up upon seeing our presence does makes our day too. It was priceless!

We also visited those few registration areas within the hospital, even the fitness centre.

IMG_4238

IMG_4237

 

So there you have it. These are the best moments that I have been through that 12 months. Looking ahead to the new year. Hopefully, I will be able to commit and be manageable at times, God’s willing.

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

 

Leave a comment