Welcome To Rest In Peace Department. You Are Officially Dead!

Posted: August 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

Captain’s log                                                                    Stardate: 79918.3 (Aug 21th, 2013)

Some time ago, me and some few friends went to watch this epic sci-fict movie known as Pacific Rim. A terrifying extreme action pack movie about giant mechs versus hideous monsters that lurks out through a portal hidden deep beneath the rim.

Before the movie commenced, there’s this few trailers which were sneak peaks of the upcoming movies. One of them suddenly caught my attention. Its called R.I.P.D. Short for Rest In Peace Department. Seeing how interested I had become, I immediately tell my friends there that I will organize another movie outing to see this.

And yesterday the 20th, we are back again in our seats. Popcorn and nachos ready on hand while we watch.

ripd-poster

Staring Ryan Reynolds (Green Lantern) as Nick Walker, the movie tells the story of him as a police officer from Boston. During a raid in a warehouse, he gets killed. By his own partner.

He somehow…..recovered. Well, that was his soul actually. He was been dragged up into the afterlife when he was thrown into this department known as the R.I.P.D. An agency that recruits deceased police officers to patrol the afterlife and to capture this so-called “Deados.” They were spirits that had failed to cross over and ended up returning to Earth as hideous ghosts. More like demons.

So to cut it short, its all about this recently slain cop who joins a team of undead police officers working for R.I.P.D. At the same time, to find the man who murdered him. A high chance to seek revenge.

You’ve seen the undead which terrorizes the living. Now, prepare to meet the undead cops where they would not sleep and eat but still continues to play their part in serving the name of justice in the afterlife.

Fans and for those who loves Men In Black or even Ghostbusters, you might want to watch this. Cause the way I see it, it kinds reminds me a lot of M.I.B especially. I mean, in how the way they teleport to the real world to the afterworld. The monsters, the fights and all. Its just so similar.

As expected, even when 1st seen from its trailer, the movie was meant to a comedy action with a straight forward plot. Despite critics saying how disappointment the movie was, I still find it interesting though. People had their own views. But to me, I still say the movie is not all bad and really fun to watch. I give it a 3 out of 5 rates. Honestly, I have no regrets watching it =)

Imagine that. An agency in the afterlife that was designed for cops who were killed in the line of duty when on Earth. Even those Marshals from the 1800s. They were still given the chance to continue to upload the law. Except in a different way by arresting spirits who fail to remain in the afterworld! =D

Leave a Reply

