Police Car Obessions (Singapore)

Posted: December 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

Captain’s log                          Stardate: 64439.7 (Dec 9th, 2010)

Sure I’m a big sport when comes to cars. But seriously, I’m a GEEK when comes to police cars! I just can’t resist the sight of these black maria when they screamed across the street. Best, when the sky is dark. Those red and blue flashes really dazzles me and sometimes I felt like as though I was been hypnotize if I stared at the flashing colours for too long! Its just too beautiful for me…..=D

A lot of people came to ask, why am I so obsessed into police cars. Tough question, if you asked me. But the only thing I had in mind was, there’s something weird about them. I don’t know how to reflect that, to be honest. Even despite a law enforcement officer myself. Sure, no matter where you go, they all look somewhat the same. However, when they are picked, they looked somewhat…..different after that….

Here, I’m willing to represent the police cars that we had in the country. From the past till the current ones. Not only those in Singapore. As avid fan of police cars, it means international as well! =D

But there’s practically more than just these 10 police hotwheels. There’s the Opel, Isuzu, Mitsubishi and the legendary Volkswagen Beetle which is the first patrol car used by the Singapore Police Force. Spend hours searching for them across the net. Even Google won’t help. It just reflects back the same cars as what I had posted. Oh well…..maybe someday I came across them and had it posted. To me, its not yet completed.

Some of my friends told me, how come I did not include the police vans, jeeps, buses and trucks after I posted the photos in my Facebook. This includes the traffic police motorcycles, those interceptor boats from the police coast guards and special-designed vehicles meant for those Special Operation Command (SOC). Well, frankly speaking, I’m only into cars. Sure, the rest are cool, interesting, also different in a way. But no matter what, I still stick to the cars =)

Don’t be fool by this Nissan Skyline GT-R version of the police car. Looks realistic isn’t it? But its not relatively genuine. It was been reported some time ago, saying that this supposedly police car was been spotted parked along Aljunied Road and been making its rounds across the internet. So far, none have seen this “interceptor” hitting the streets. Why? Because it doesn’t even exists. Practically, its a photoshoped. It doesn’t take long for those to conclude that this is apparently a fake.

However, this is REAL! A Lamborghini Gallardo version been used by the Italian State Police =)

Reflecting back to that Nissan Skyline GT-R, who knows, it could be real one day. If the Lamborghini can be converted into a police car, why can’t the same thing be done on the Nissan GT-R? Even the Subaru WRX that we have was been made as one. So, why not? Its perfect! =P

Comments
  1. Imran says:

    You are not the only one. I have the same obsession as you. But mine covers the other emergency vehicles such as the SCDF as well! Hahaha… No doubt, I too like the sight of a police car whizzing by on the road.. You’d be surprised at the number of NYPD cars I took photos of when I was in New York recently..haha..

    Oh and by the way, wanna share with you my 1/24 scaled model of the SPF Corolla Altis patrol car…. >>> http://www.flickr.com/photos/imranbecks/sets/72157629785353334/with/8252274150/

  2. Joseph Wong says:

    The SPF BMW police car is a 3-series E30, not 5-series E12. I think they were used by Traffic Police from the late 80s to early 90s.

Leave a Reply

