Slipped Off The Tongue

Posted: September 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

Captain’s log                         Stardate: 64187.8 (Sept 07th, 2010)

Starting from today’s date, it will be four more days before Hari Raya which falls on Friday the 11th. Really looking forward into it after enduring this one month of fasting. So around this time, me and my family will be busy cleaning and extinguishing the dust around the house. Also, setting up the decorations such as the lights and bringing up new curtains. The kitchen will be like open 24hrs, as my mom, grandma and younger sister will be making and baking the cakes for the big day.

Anyway, here’s something that I wanna share with you. And also, I just couldn’t resist writing it down. Around this period of time, I kept hearing a lot of these weird stuff from people. I don’t know…was it just me? Or was it that I’ve been seeing weird people nowadays? This is what I’ve collected so far.

The first one I made in contact when I was on duty for the Singapore Youth Olympic Games (SYOG) which I happened to befriend this Caucasian guy, who pleasantly shared with me how “pang sai” the day was, which actually turns out to be an unpleasant one, and which also leads him to some serious “shit” due to believing into something which ain’t true. Yes, I had share this “biodegradable” topic before, and I believe some of you had read it. So I just have to contribute part of it for this latest entry.

WRONG NUMBER
This happens somewhere last week. I was having a bored day of my life in the office when my handphone rings. From the LED, the number appeared to be anonymous. I answer it anyway. And what I get next was an unexpected call from a female caller who sounded depressed:
HOW CAN YOU DO THIS TO ME!? YOU SAY THAT YOU LOVE ME YESTERDAY!! BUT WHY NOW YOU DECIDED NOT TO LOVE ME ANYMORE!?”

Hearing that, I was been stumped momentarily. I felt frozen to my chair, like as though I were been paralyzed! It really buzzed through my ears like a swarm of angry bees. This has got to be a mistake. So I responded: “Errr….excuse me, I think you have the wrong number….”

There was a 3 second pause at the other line of the line, before she hang up. Not even a simple “sorry” was heard by her. Just a continuous empty dial tone…

Well, that’s sad news for her. I mean, if that’s what she…or whoever she is, is currently facing. So depressed that she ended up dialing the wrong number. Funny of how one would love her yesterday, and decided not to love her today. Some unfaithful guy! Honestly, it took me some time to get it over with. But at least, she provided me with a wake up call that get me out from my boredom. And upon returning home, I posted up a link through my facebook to share it with the rest. Within a minute, I get tons of interesting comments…..

THE NUMBER FOR 999
Recently, on my way home after meeting a friend, this guy whom I believe to be a foreigner came running to me and asked: “Hello, excuse me, can you please give me the number for 999? I need the police help.”

I froze on the spot. Turned to him, baffled, and asked: “You mean, the police hotline for this country?” He nodded, and I corrected him, that he already said the number. He become confused, and I had to repeat again, that the state police emergency hotline is 999.

He stared blankly at me, before saying “Oh….thank you,” and walk away. Blushing in embarrassment.

Leave a Reply

