A Gift

Posted: March 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

Captain’s log                           Stardate: 63684.2 (Mar 7th, 2010)

Yesterday, dated Mar 6th, I head out to Suntec City where I will meet up with two of my friends who were members of the Singapore Paranormal Investigators. Yup, you all know by now, especially to those who have been reading my previous archives, as I’m one of them =)

Frankly speaking, I was actually been invited by one of them through sms, and that also, she had something to pass it to me. According to her, is something that I loved the most. Something that I was obsessed with. Something that I just couldn’t take my eyes away from it. A passion that I will adore, and that I will treasure it for the rest of my life. Most likely to say, its a sentimental gift. One I knew from a friend, that he knows I will definitely loved it. One thing is particular though, how I stumbled into a suspense mood after reading this sms from her.

Quote:

“I’ll be in suntec tml. Want to meet there? I’m thinking how you’ll react upon seeing the thing i’m going to pass you..”

“…..how you’ll react upon seeing the thing i’m going to pass you..” my eyes just stare at this twelve words that make up this strong suspense sentence. It even chilled me to the bones! What makes me to thing that I’m gonna get excited “upon seeing the thing i’m going to pass you..” somehow told me that I already have and already knew, and that this “thing” was from a friend whom I know also, and that she happened to give it to me on his behalf. A friend who are aware of my passion. And he knows I’m totally crazy into it…

And that’s where it hit me like a hammer falls. Could it be!?

Damn, I was anxious about it!

I was informed that both of them will be meeting at the Starbucks there. She became delighted when I showed up and quickly awarded me the prize.

It appeared to be a poster been rolled up. Giggling, she hurriedly tell me to open it up. “You will love it!” she exclaimed. My heart beats, as I removed the rubber band that secures it. Then, I stretched it out, full span.

My eyes went wide open. My jaw dropped.

OH MY GOD!!!

Its the STAR TREK ONLINE game poster!

Release last February, this Star Trek online represents its Star Trek universe for the first time on a truly massive scale. Created from Cryptic Studios, players were given the utmost opportunity as Captain of a Federation starship. Or, they can become a Klingon Warlord and expand the Empire to the far reaches of the galaxy.

Taken place in the 25th century, players will also given the opportunity to visit iconic locations based on the popular Star Trek fiction itself. Their goal, is to reach out to unexplored star systems, and make contact with new alien species. With Episode Missions, every moment spent playing Star Trek Online will feel like a new Star Trek episode in which you are the star.

Best of all, I also came to find out that, by using Cryptic’s Total Customization technology, every ship the player command can be customized by the player, from its color to its construction.

The ship will retain a Star Trek “feel,” but it will also represent the player’s style. What’s more, anyone can create their own species in Star Trek Online, meaning you can tell your own story about how you came to be in the galaxy. Its like you are leaving your mark on the Star Trek universe! Me and some of the local Star Trek members were itching to start this online game. But we need a sufficient numbers so that each can established a fleet.

Seeing the poster…..I just don’t know what to say. It may be just a poster. But to me, its not just any other ordinary poster. Its a poster that reveals my passion which I enjoyed! =D

And that means my instincts are right! A friend who had given me this was also a member of SPI. And he knows that Star Trek is my all-time favourite sci-fiction. He had passed the poster to her, as he will be leaving Singapore yesterday evening to Australia, where he was currently been posted due to this teaching as an history researcher.

John, if you are reading this, thank you so much! My members, especially the founder will be thrilled when I share this with them. I had never, thought this could be expected. I don’t know how you managed to get it, but its truly a great gift! You know that I loved Star Trek, and yes, I’m totally crazy into it just like the rest of the local trekkies! And we even had an profile, title as STAR TREK.SG set up in Facebook, and the numbers of fans we received was gaining! =D

I will treasure this, just like I had treasure the rest of the Star Trek posters I owned. Its all on the wall. Haha! =D

Thanks again John! Its truly amazing! We shall meet again for our next gathering =)


Leave a Reply

