First Serve…

Posted: October 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

Captain’s log                            Stardate: 63326.1 (Oct 28th, 2009)

Its been quite a while since my last log entry. Well, you know, been running around in my work and been occupied with some other stuff. Seems like its been a stretch for me at this period of time. Most likely, when referring to my career as a law enforcement officer. Been subjected to a level of an increase rate in manpower. At the same time, been push to such a boundary that were like as though there’s no point of return.

Oh well….

Anyway, here’s my catch.

A friend of mine had recently confess to me that he can get a little agitated when people put up notices that says “first come first serve.” He related to me when he happened to came across one when he was at a finance hub in town. He claimed, it is, rightly, “first come first served.” I was surprised by it actually. And if you gonna asked those who don’t bothered enough with proper English, they will most likely lamented: “What a difference a little ‘d’ makes!”

Not long after, I stumble upon it myself, an advertising list from the newspaper about an overseas studies into some reputable university in England: “Applications will close on November 3rd, 2009. However, as the number of students (err....shouldn’t it be places?) is limited, we will appreciate your early application. Successful application will be admitted on a first-come-first-serve basic.”

If I can differentiate, I mean in my point of view, perhaps is best understood when split into two parts: “the first to come and first to be served.” Kind of like, “I’ll be the first to arrive, and be the first to leave,” when comes to queuing up. And my friend once again pointed out, that the person who is the first to arrive does not serve; he gets served-and-served first instead (Wonder which is which…). Of course, the server must be there first, but the rule does not apply to him.

So much for that, cause let’s say its a self-serve facility, you can say that the “early bird catches the worm.” Sounds reasonable enough?

Leave a Reply

