Two Things

Posted: October 15, 2009 in Uncategorized

Captain’s log                              Stardate: 63290.4 (Oct 15, 2009)

In most public places, you will see such notices like, for example: “Do not eat and drink in the auditorium”, and “Do not swim and fish in the pond.” This commonly refer to those notices that reminds us clearly in two things you cannot do, and when we separated it, it will turned out, “do not eat in the auditorium and do not drink in the auditorium”, and “do not swim in the pond and do not fish in the pond.” Does reminds me, on a family vacation in New Zealand whereby I came across this sign on a particular spot from inside a themepark that almost had me to collapse while laughing my head off. It reads, “No running and pinching here.” Its the “pinching” that makes me wonder….(Anyway, my apologies here cause I had entirely forgotten to take a photo of it…).

Anyway, I get a little queasy when I stumble upon this caption to a story just recently: “Do not speed and drive with caution during bad weather.” Notice the errors? Bad errors, despite told to be careful. Its spells out in two, “do not speed and do not drive with caution.” If I were given a chance, I would unscramble the message as: “Do not speed during bad weather. Drive with caution.” A simple line like this will do, and without a doubt, others would have thought the same way if they had noticed it carefully.

It is a serious message, and whoever issue it ought to get it right the first time round.


Leave a Reply

