Its Your Pasal

Posted: August 7, 2009 in Uncategorized

Captain’s log                        Stardate: 63600.0 (August 7th, 2009)

Earlier, a colleague of mine had asked me of a Malay word, known as “Pasal.” A term coined as “Problem” when translated in English. According to him, he had heard the word spoken from a group of Malay students when travelling on a train. And eventually, it gives me an idea to blog in for this latest chapter once I’ve reached home.

So, if its your pasal, it is not my problem. A friend, or a colleague who is not prepared to lend a helping hand would say: “If you don’t know how to do it, its your pasal.” Or, when someone who prefers to stay out of it over something will say: “Go or don’t go is your pasal, not mine.” And it hit me with the thought back few days ago, when I heard a colleague of mine, chatting on his handphone: “Whatever he says, that his pasal.”

The hammer falls on me again, when I recall watching a documentary. I happened to miss out the title, but based on my observation, the word, pasal does comes with some good substitutes.

Big headache, those people seen in the documentary would say. But there’s few, would prefer the morbid: “Its your funeral!”


Leave a Reply

