Places Of Interest

Posted: April 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

Captain’s log                            Stardate: 62787.7 (April 14th, 2009)

Yesterday, on stardate 62784.4 (April 13th, 2009) was a solo-ventured to Fort Canning. Not just to breathe in and get a taste of mother nature, but also to ease my mind after what I’ve been going through a week ago. Well, you know, the usual stuff. Stress at work. One that is considered as your life and parcel. One that is most likely to be expected by no doubt. The ups and downs, and the throwing here and there. The same story over and over.

But for that week…you wouldn’t even want to know

For the benefit, I thought of going there as to put it as a perfect place to stretch myself away from the city life. Take a leisurely stroll back in time, to the era of the five kings and the golden age of 14th century Singapore. Of course, it wouldn’t be a good one without a camera in hand. Hehe..=D

Besides, its been quite for some time since I last visited here. Hmm….seven years…to be exact =O Must have change a lot ever since. Not to mention that it had turned into a popular venue for the arts. Including sculpture exhibitions, plays and open-air ballet. How intriguing was that! =D

Of course, once hear something that was been heard before, the person can go excited. Cause rumors has it, that Fort Canning is haunted. Not trying to be skeptic here, but many said that they had seen ghostly figure of kings wandering about on the hills at night. Including many other ghosts and spirits. Despite its located in the middle of the city and tends to be very peaceful, there’s majority of these residents living nearby will stay away in the belief that the park is haunted.

Well, one thing for sure, I find it hard to believe myself. And I am aware, that the local paranormal team, where I was one of their members had came here before at night…

Andddddddd…..just to ensure if anyone of you were reading this. I’m NOT there for some self-recce or investigation. And I am aware that our historical department is handling this project regarding about the tombs found in Fort Canning. I’m just there for a nice stroll, and to take some pictures at the same time. Not to mention that I haven’t been there for quite a l0ng time. I say this because I’m afraid some of you might get the wrong impression and that I also belong to the same paranormal group. No offense here, but I’m there, cause I find the place as a perfect spot to relax my mind. Thanks.

Anyway, here I am. As history dictates, Fort Canning Park is the most historic part of Singapore. Formerly known as “Forbidden Hill” as this is because Malays in the 19th century believed that it was the seat of royalty for rules of Temasek, or “Sea Town”, an old name for Singapore in the 1300s. Some time later, Singapore’s colonial leaders made their residences there, and the hill became a military base during the Second World War. Today, ancient relics dating back to the 14th century have been unearthed and the Fort Gate, remnant of the fortress built in the 1860s, is a reminder of Singapore’s colonial past.. (The list goes on and on. What I had wrote down was the vital one. More of them can be dig out from the local website)…=)

Surprisingly, there’s even the “Welcome to the Legends of Fort Canning Park.” The wording so big, it catches the attention of many tourists to join in the fun and soon finding a hard time to leave the spot! =D It was actually a centrally-located town club catering to businessmen, executives and their families. It has the distinction of being the only town club in Singapore set within a hill top, city park.

As for the meantime, I let the pictures do all the talking. But with the little caption to go along with. I mean, if there’s any. Hehe..=D

Fort Canning

Fort Canning

Hmmm…wonder why the other one had its mouth closed….

Fort Canning

Going along the path. It was a cloudless afternoon. The sun was exposed, but the trees were countless as they had kept the place cool and mist. The scenery here were just everlasting =)

Fort Canning

First assignment: Go check out the ancient Fort Gate and the Battle Box =D

Save my typing for now. Hah! =D

Fort Canning

Fort Canning Fort Canning Fort Canning

Just within range, was the Old Married Soldiers Quaters (OMSQ) Hmm…don’t think I ever heard of this one before…

Fort Canning

Fort Canning

Resume my journey, where soon my destination will took me…….

Fort Canning

In addition, Sir Stamford Raffles had chose to build his castle…err, I mean..his bungalow here during his third and last visit to Singapore for the beautiful view in commanded, and where the site served as residence for a long line of Governors. From this vantage point, visitors will be able to see the well known landmarks in the civic district. Ex, the dome of the Supreme Court.

Fort Canning

Fort Canning Fort Canning Fort Canning

And moments later…..

PREPARE TO FIRE!!!

Fort Canning

Fort Canning

Down ahead, was the Archaeological Excavation Site, where the research at the park began in 1984 (The year I was born). Thousands of artifacts have since been uncovered, confirming the very historical significance of Fort Canning even before the arrival of the British in 1819. Most likely an area used by palace craftsmen manufacturing items of glass and gold in the past, the Archaeological Dig showcases an actual archaeological excavation site, the only such exhibition in modern Singapore. Oooo…how intriguing was that! =D

Fort Canning

Fort Canning

I proceed on, moving along this 14th Century Walk down towards the Keramat Iskandar Syah.

As legend dictates, meaning a sacred place in Malay, a Keramat is the traditional burial ground of a revered leader. It is uncertain who was buried here, though some people believed this to be the resting place of Iskandar Syah, a ruler of Temasek. A 14th century-styled Malay roof called a pendopo, supported by twenty wooden pillars carved in fighting cock motif of Javanese origin, shelters this structure.

Fort Canning

Upon seeing it closer, I started feeling like as though there’s a bunch of butterflies flying around in my stomach. Where was that feeling coming from? I had wondered. Why was there suddenly a tremor of tension?

After a few minutes of observing the place, I moved on. Came across one of the two Gothic Gates, that leads through Fort Canning Green.

Fort Canning

Fort Canning Green: An entire field of green refuge, a verdant oasis set in the heart of the civic and cultural district. The park provides a haven for those seeking communion with nature. Apart from that, a romantic spot for lovers on a date. Hehe…=D

Fort Canning

Also, the frequent outdoor concerts and carnivals now held at Fort Canning Green belie the fact that the area was once a graveyard for some 600 Christian graves. The only graves left are at the far end of the Green. Some tombstones that were removed were set into the walls surrounding Fort Canning Green.

Fort Canning

Then, this is where I came to know about the graves which was left at the far end of the Green.

Fort Canning

Ok, once again, if any one of my friends from our paranormal group were reading this, please DON’T get the wrong impression that you think I had intend to conduct solo-investigation. Currently, there appeared to be a missing tombstone from out of the twelve tombs, and that our historical dept are on the research library. My case has got nothing to do with it, and like I said, I’m just here for a peaceful stroll to ease the mind and to enjoy the scenery and tranquility down memory lane. Please, I’m here just for that!

Fort Canning

Fort Canning

Once done, I trace back to where I had started.

Had these interesting pictures taken along the way =)

Fort Canning Fort Canning Fort Canning Fort Canning Fort Canning

And here’s some heritage trees I had bumped into. Interesting plantation, really.

Fort Canning

Fort Canning

madras-thorn

Fort Canning

Fort Canning

Fort Canning

I returned back to where the Fort Gate is, and took my rest at one of the benches there. Lilting birdsong greeted among the trees. Ever so peaceful down here. Away from the buzz of city life. Away from all the trouble that was been pounding in my head. And yes, there is a lot to discover and much to behold, compare to the time when I was here seven years ago. The carpet of green and flowers were just sparkling from every corner.

In less than 10 mins, I make my move. Back towards Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station where I took a train back home. I didn’t really completed the whole circumference of the park. But at least I had capture the interesting stuff, and able to enjoy my time of relaxation and to breathe in mother nature. Its worth a visit at any time of the day! =D

Here’s a friend I had bumped into. Hehe…=)

Fort Canning

Cheers! =D

Comments
  1. HaZ says:

    Awww….so long never been here…=(

  2. Ariffin says:

    Next time girl, we bring the whole gang ok. =D

  3. Hi, good post. I have been thinking about this topic,so thanks for writing. I will certainly be subscribing to your blog. Keep up the good posts

Leave a Reply

